Asia Cup Final Match: A Clash of Titans

Asia Cup Final Match, one of the most prestigious international ODI competitions, was introduced in 1983 along with the establishment of the Asian Cricket Council. Every two years, it was supposed to be played amongst ACC members.

With the first one being played in 1984 and the last one in 2022, 15 editions have been played so far. Given the tense tensions between India and Pakistan at the time, the 1993 session had to be declared invalid. In 2008, it was announced that the championship will occur every other year.

Asia Cup Final Match: Highlights

Both teams had a lot of spinners in their lineups because the match would be played on a dry surface, similar to the one that was used for India and Pakistan’s match that ended up lasting two days. Axar Patel thus took Shardul Thakur’s place in India’s team. By playing intelligently at the finish, Axar did assist India beyond the 200-run barrier, but without Rohit’s heroics during the Powerplay, India might not have been able to reach the total it did.

Rohit’s carefree elegance was often on display, whether it was in a sharp drive off Kasun Rajitha in the first over or his straight six over the pacer’s head that enabled the veteran to pass 10,000 ODI runs in the second-fastest time.


Inviting Dasun Shanaka into the attack with four fours, he pursued him before swiveling Matheesha Pathirana’s short ball over the ropes. However, Shanaka removed himself and replaced him with Wellalage in the 12th over.

In his first three overs, the left-arm spinner scored once, allowing Sri Lanka to enter the contest. Shubman Gill (undone in flight), Virat Kohli (the ball stuck in the pitch, caught at midwicket), and Rohit (skidded and kept low) were all removed from the game by him, reintroducing Sri Lanka into the contest.

India thereafter found it difficult to score runs. India was bowled out for 213 after Wellalage added two more to become the youngest Sri Lankan to claim a five-wicket haul in ODI play and Asalanka swept through the bottom order.




Then, Bumrah and Siraj displayed their poise by landing three Powerplay strikes. Bumrah chose two of them, both of which were essentially unplayable. Then, Kuldeep struck twice quickly, including the articulate Sadeera Samarawickrama.

The game was all but gone when Ravindra Jadeja persuaded Shanaka to edge Rohit in the slips at 99 for 6. However, Dhananjaya de Silva discovered a capable ally in Wellalage, giving optimism to the crowd with the highest turnout.

Shubman Gill, however, made a fine grab to see de Silva’s back at mid-on, ending the 63-run partnership. Kuldeep later made a break through the pack to give India a commanding victory.

Asia Cup Final Match Team

India won Group A, securing a spot in the championship. On September 15, 2023, Pakistan and Sri Lanka will play each other, with the victor facing the loser. The Asia Cup is a significant cricket competition in the region, and the championship game is always eagerly awaited. The 2023 final is predicted to follow suit and is certain to be an exciting match.

Asia Cup Final Match Location

On Sunday, September 17, the R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo will host the final between the top two teams after the Super 4 stage.

Most Asia Cup Winners List

Country Won Runner-up Winning Year
India 7 3 1984, 1988, 1991, 1995, 2010, 2016, 2018
Sri Lanka 6 6 1986, 1997, 2004, 2008, 2014, 2022
Pakistan 2 3 2000, 2012


Leave a Comment